Presenters, performances announced for 2014 Helpmann Awards

It’s almost time for the Helpmanns! The night of nights for Australia’s performers is only two weeks away, and yesterday Live Performance Australia came out with their latest announcement: the star-studded presenter line up on the night.

In addition to host Jonathan Biggins, presenters will include Nancye Hayes AM, Lucy Durack, Simon Gleeson, Pamela Rabe, Danielle Cormack, Simon Burke, Helen Dallimore, Teddy Tahu Rhodes, Craig McLachlan, Robert Grubb, Verity Hunt-Ballard, Linden Wilkinson, Kelley Abbey, James Reyne, Deborah Conway, Lucinda Dunn OAM, Gale Edwards, John Robertson OAM, Ursula Yovich, Craig Hassall, Martin Crewes, David McAllister AM, and Rafael Bonachela as well as award-winning English director John Tiffany and Lou Diamond Phillips.

Lucy Durack
Lucy Durack

The  night’s performances are set to be winners, with the Wharf Revue set to delight with a new skit.


This year’s ceremony will take place at the Capitol Theatre on the set of The Lion King. The awards will open with a performance of “The Circle of Life” from this show. Performances from other musicals are set to appear on the night too: Les Miserables, Strictly Ballroom,  and The King and I.

There will also be performances from Mark Vincent, Djuki Mala (also known as the Chooky Dancers), and The Zephyr Quartet. Taryn Fiebig and Dominic Grimshaw will perform for the In Memoriam segment.

The 14th Annual Helpmann Awards will be presented live in Sydney at the Capitol Theatre on Monday 18th August and broadcast on FOXTEL’s Arena. For tickets visit


Cassie Tongue

Cassie is a theatre critic and arts writer in Sydney, and was the deputy editor of AussieTheatre. She has written for The Guardian, Time Out Sydney, Daily Review, and BroadwayWorld Australia. She is a voter for the Sydney Theatre Awards.

Cassie Tongue

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *