Adelaide Festival Centre’s Walk of Fame Stars Announced

Adelaide Festival Centre’s star-studded Walk of Fame is today announcing new names to be added to the
illuminated walkway, in recognition of the powerful performances presented at its venues in 2023.

Beloved South Australian entertainer, Hans (Matt Gilbertson), has been announced as the recipient of
Adelaide Festival Centre’s Walk of Fame Public Choice star. Other recipients for the 2023 Walk of Fame stars include accomplished singer-songwriter and Barkindji woman Nancy Bates and legendary Australian entertainer Patti Newton AM.

Australia’s favourite Berlin boy-wonder and award-winning performer Hans won the Public Choice for his performance in Disco Spektakular Tour 2023. Nancy Bates won the Critics’ Choice star for her performance in Still Talking ‘Bout a Revolution. Last year, Patti Newton AM was presented with Adelaide Festival Centre Trust’s Choice for the Walk of Fame star while she was in Adelaide performing the role of Bird Woman in Mary Poppins.


There are so many people I admire and look up to named on the Walk of Fame, so to now be joining them is a very special moment for me. It’s also vey humbling to be given the Public Choice star. I feel very lucky to have such a loyal audience here in Adelaide and I’m thrilled that they’ll now be able to walk all over me for years to come.

Nancy Bates:

I am stunned to receive the news that I have been awarded a place on the Adelaide Festival Centre’s Walk of Fame, alongside so many renowned artists. I hope this speaks volumes to First Nations women in music, that an Independent Artist, without the support of a major music label, can be recognised for her activism, her truth, and her deep commitment to utilising music for social impact.

The winners will join more than 130 names of the great artists who have graced the stages of Adelaide Festival Centre since it opened in 1973.

Each year three stars are added to the walkway in the form of bronze plaques – in addition to the Public
Choice, two more stars are selected by Adelaide Festival Centre Trust and a panel of arts critics. Past
recipients include William Barton, Annette Shun Wah, Billy Crystal, Cold Chisel, Olivia Newton-John, Hugo Weaving, Cate Blanchett, Dami Im, Tim Minchin, Paul Kelly, Guy Sebastian, Archie Roach, Beccy Cole, Kate Ceberano and Tina Arena.

Adelaide Festival Centre CEO & Artistic Director Douglas Gautier AM:

The Walk of Fame showcases the names of some of the best and brightest artists and creators who have been part of performances at Adelaide Festival Centre. It was a pleasure to review the remarkable works from 2023 and we congratulate Hans, Nancy Bates and Patti Newton AM who all contributed to Adelaide Festival Centre’s 50th anniversary celebrations.

Minister for Arts, the Hon. Andrea Michaels MP:

Congratulations to Hans on being chosen by the people of South Australia to receive a star on the Walk of Fame. The iconic international superstar from Berlin and beloved adopted South Australian will have his name rightly shine forever on the Adelaide Festival Centre’s Walk of Fame.

I’d also like to congratulate Nancy Bates and Patti Newton on being awarded their place on our Walk of Fame.

For more information click Here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *