2015 Rob Guest Endowment applications close this week

Attention members of the arts community: applications for Australia’s richest musical theatre competition – the Rob Guest Endowment – will close this week.

2014 winner Josh Robson and judges Guy Simpson, Todd McKenney, Nancye Hayes and Kellie Dickerson. Image by Kurt Sneddon
2014 winner Josh Robson and judges Guy Simpson, Todd McKenney, Nancye Hayes and Kellie Dickerson. Image by Kurt Sneddon

The application process for the 6th annual Rob Guest Endowment will close on July 26, with up and coming performing artists, musicians and technical workers encouraged to apply.

The Rob Guest Endowment executive committee, Bernadette Hayes and Kellie Dickerson, are thrilled that the total prize pool has increased to over $60,000 this year, with three award categories on offer for applicants.

Musical Theatre – Performance

The major prize – the Rob Guest Endowment Award – will be awarded to an emerging musical theatre performer selected by a panel of industry experts. Australia’s brightest and most talented young rising stars are encouraged to apply for the award and a gruelling audition process will whittle the applicants down to six finalists.

The finalists will will showcase their talent at the Rob Guest Endowment Concert in Sydney later this year, all vying for the coveted $20,000 prize and a headshot package provided by Blueprint Studios.

The runner up will receive Melbourne’s East End Theatre District Artist Development Award, a $5,000 prize and the Playbill Future Prospect Award (a cash prize of $1,500) will be awarded to a third finalist. The four remaining finalists will each take home $1,500.

Past winners and finalists of the Rob Guest Endowment Award are performing in lead roles in musical theatre around Australia, including Samantha Leigh Dodemaide (Anything Goes), Euan Doidge (Marius in Les Miserables), Kirby Burgess (Baby in Dirty Dancing), Joshua Robson (Les Miserables) and Andrew Cook (Matilda – The Musical).

Enter Rob Guest Endowment Award

Musicians Award and Technical Award

The Rob Guest Endowment Technical Award in Honour of Sue Nattrass and The Rob Guest Endowment Musician Award will again be presented in 2015. Each of these awards, fully funded by the Capitol Theatre and Sydney Lyric, include a $10,000 cash prize intended to help the recipients become leaders in their field.

Applications for the Musicians Award and Technical Award close in September and the winners of these will be announced at the 2015 concert.

Enter the Musician Award

Enter the Technical Award

Rob Guest Endowment Patron, John Frost, says that the Rob Guest Endowment Awards are an incredible legacy and continue to give back to the industry as it grows.

“This is a unique set of awards honouring a much-loved musical theatre star. Rob Guest was an inspiration to all, and a great teacher and mentor to those he worked with”, said Frost.

“The Rob Guest Endowment Awards continue to inspire and foster the growth of the musical theatre industry.”

Entries for all awards can be submitted via www.robguestendowment.com.au by 26 July 2015

OR contact [email protected]

Erin James

Erin James is AussieTheatre.com's former Editor in Chief and a performer on both stage and screen. Credits include My Fair Lady, South Pacific and The King and I (Opera Australia), Love Never Dies and Cats (Really Useful Group), Blood Brothers (Enda Markey Presents), A Place To Call Home (Foxtel/Channel 7) and the feature film The Little Death (written and directed by Josh Lawson).

Erin James

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *