Who’s it gonna be? 2012 Helpmann Award Noms announced August 6

Simon Burke
Simon Burke hosted the inaugural Helpmann Awards in 2001 and continued the role for 6 consecutive years

It has been confirmed that Simon Burke will host the 12th annual Helpmann Award Ceremony this year and with less than two weeks until nominations are released, the industry is a-buzz with all things Helpmann.

Monday 6 August will see the 2012 Helpmann Award nominees announced in Sydney, Melbourne and (for the very first time) Brisbane concurrently. Live Performance Australia (LPA) have officially confirmed that the nominees in all 41 Helpmann Award categories will be read at The Capitol Theatre Sydney, Arts Centre Melbourne and Queensland Performing Arts Centre (QPAC) will host the inaugural Brisbane launch from 6pm.

“We are delighted to be hosting the Helpmann Awards Nominations Announcement in Brisbane this year”, said Ross Cunningham,  Chairman of the Helpmann Awards Administration Committee (HAAC).

“These national Awards are important to our Queensland performing arts sector and we look forward to announcing all the Nominees.”

This year, a record 829 entries were received across the 41 categories celebrating the significant contribution the live performance sector makes to the Australian community.

MCs and Presenters at the three Nomination Announcement Events have also been confirmed, with Simon Burke hosting the Sydney event, Bert LaBonte hosting Melbourne and Bille Brown AM hosting Brisbane.

Presenters include Bobby Fox, Verity Hunt-Ballard, Lucy Maunder Eddie Perfect and Teddy Tahu Rhodes in Sydney, Michael Cormick, Blake Bowden, Martin Crewes, Chloe Dallimore, Nicole Da Silva, and Silvie Paladino in Melbourne and Lisa Gasteen, Tony Gould AM D UNI, Glaston Toft, and Natalie Weir in Brisbane.

The second recipient of the prestigious JC Williamson Award for extraordinary contribution to the industry will be announced on Monday 6 August. The late Jimmy Little has already been confirmed as a recipient this year.

In addition Kathryn Sadler, Chair of the Brian Stacey Memorial Trust will announce the winner of the Brian Stacey Award for Emerging Australian Conductors at the Melbourne event.

The winner will be presented with an $8,000 prize.

“The Helpmann Awards are the pinnacle industry event for Australia’s live performance industry, recognising the very best in live performances that annually attracts over 17 million people to shows across the nation with revenues of $1.3 billion.”, said  LPA’s Chief Executive, Evelyn Richardson.

Tickets for the ceremony at the Opera House will be on sale to the general public from Tuesday 7 August and can be purchased from the Sydney Opera House Box Office

(02) 9250 7777 or www.sydneyoperahouse.com


Erin James

Erin James is AussieTheatre.com's former Editor in Chief and a performer on both stage and screen. Credits include My Fair Lady, South Pacific and The King and I (Opera Australia), Love Never Dies and Cats (Really Useful Group), Blood Brothers (Enda Markey Presents), A Place To Call Home (Foxtel/Channel 7) and the feature film The Little Death (written and directed by Josh Lawson).

Erin James

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *