The Wiggles welcomed into the Australian Music Vault with new display

Australian children’s music supergroup The Wiggles will be welcomed into the Australian Music Vault to commemorate their 2022 Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Service to Australian Music. Some of the band’s most iconic objects are now on display in the exhibition space at Arts Centre Melbourne.

Blue Wiggle, Anthony Field:

We’re really honoured to be recognised by the Australian Music Vault in this fantastic exhibition of Wiggles memorabilia. It’s so great to take a trip down memory lane and see some of the amazing items from the past 30 years. I’m not sure what Jeff will do without his purple skivvy as we still have a show to play in Adelaide next weekend, but I’m sure we’ll figure something out!

Objects on display include:

  • Custom Maton Mastersound MS500 guitar signed by past and present members of The Wiggles – 2015-2022
  • Original prop sword used by Paul Paddick as Captain Feathersword for performances with The Wiggles –1995-2022
  • Purple skivvy worn by Jeff Fatt when performing with The Wiggles – c.1991-2012
  • ARIA Hall of Fame awarded to Anthony Field of The Wiggles – 2011, and many more.

Formed in Sydney in 1991, The Wiggles have been entertaining and delighting generations of children all over the world for more than 30 years. Adorned in coloured skivvies and accompanied by the characters Captain Feathersword, Dorothy the Dinosaur, Henry the Octopus and Wags the Dog, The Wiggles have forged their own cultural landscape fostering a love of music in millions of children.

Their evolution is unlike any other. While undertaking studies in early childhood education, Anthony Field (Blue Wiggle) recruited fellow university students Murray Cook (Red Wiggle) and Greg Page (Yellow Wiggle) alongside Jeff Fatt (Purple Wiggle) to record an album for children.

Today, they are a global brand who have embarked on multiple international tours, sold over 30 million albums and DVDs, released 59 studio albums, won 13 ARIA Awards for Best Children’s Album, and been inducted into the ARIA Hall of Fame.

Their line-up has changed throughout the years to include former members Sam Moran and Emma Watkins and current members Anthony Field (Blue Wiggle), Tsehay Hawkins (Yellow Wiggle), Lachlan Gillespie (Purple Wiggle) and Simon Pryce (Red Wiggle) continue to delight children of all ages with their playful exploration of everyday life through music and movement.

To read more about the history of The Wiggles, read Jane Gazzo’s piece at She spoke to Anthony’s eldest brother Paul Field who managed The Wiggles for 24 years.

The display is open now until the end of July. The AMV is a free exhibition and open daily from 10am – 5pm (no bookings required).

The prestigious Ted Albert Award is awarded annually by the Australasian Performing Right Association (APRA) in memory of pioneering independent record producer Ted Albert, whose company, Albert Productions, was home to music icons The Easybeats, AC/DC, The Angels, Rose Tattoo and John Paul Young. Previous winners of the award include The Seekers, Ian “Molly” Meldrum, Fifa Riccobono, Archie Roach, Midnight Oil, Rob Potts, Joy McKean and Helen Reddy.

To read more about previous Ted Albert Award winners Joy McKean, Helen Reddy, Rob Potts and Midnight Oil, head to

For more information click HERE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *