Rob Guest Endowment: Ticket giveaway winners announced


The winners of the Rob Guest Endowment double pass giveaway have been announced! 

Rob Guest

The winners of the Rob Guest Endowment double pass giveaway have been announced! 

Congratulations to Deb Wells and Kylie Mehmel our two lucky winners. Deb and Kylie will receive a double pass to the Rob Guest Endowment Gala Concert on Monday 10 October at Her Majesty’s Theatre, Melbourne.

Performers at this years event include the six finalists: Gretel Scarlett and Jamie WardAshlea PykeBlake BowdenKirby Lunn and Luigi Lucente as well as Lucy Maunder, David Harris, Rob Mills, Rhonda Burchmore and Alex Rathgeber. 

The Award

The Rob Guest Endowment will be awarded each year to an emerging musical theatre performer selected by a panel of industry experts. The Award will provide the emerging performer with further knowledge and training in the industry to develop their potential and become one of Australias leading musical theatre performers as late, great Rob Guest was.

The winner of the Endowment will receive a prize package to provide financial assistance for their future and access to tuition and industry specialists both in Australia and overseas. This will allow them to hone their skills and knowledge of the industry and subsequently flourish within it. 

The Prize

The 2011 prize package includes a $10,000 talent development grant to go toward tuition in Australia or overseas, a media training session, a new headshot package and a guest performance at a nominated industry event the following year. This, together with the exposure from performing at the Rob Guest Endowment Concert and the knowledge gained from working with some of the industry’s leading creative’s provides a wonderful opportunity for any young performer.

Previous Endowments 

The finalists for the inaugural Rob Guest Endowment were Danielle Matthews, Sarah Bakker, Daniel Belle, Zack Anthony Curran, Ross Hannaford and Laura Page. All six have subsequently worked in professional engagements. Danielle Matthews, the winner of the inaugural award has traveled to study internationally and is fast becoming known for her selfless charity work and as one of the great voices in music theatre.

The finalists from the second Rob Guest Endowment included Sarah Bakker, Nathan Derrick, Bree Langridge, Simon Brook McLachlan and Drew Weston with Francine Cain winning the award. Francine has returned from study in New York and is currently playing the role of Regina in Rock Of Ages. will be at the concert on Monday to bring you updates, interviews and tweets on the concert as it happens. Follow us on Twitter @AussieTheatre

To book tickets to the event, visit


Erin James

Erin James is's former Editor in Chief and a performer on both stage and screen. Credits include My Fair Lady, South Pacific and The King and I (Opera Australia), Love Never Dies and Cats (Really Useful Group), Blood Brothers (Enda Markey Presents), A Place To Call Home (Foxtel/Channel 7) and the feature film The Little Death (written and directed by Josh Lawson).

Erin James

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *