New chair for ATYP


Australian Theatre for Young People (atyp), Australia’s leading youth theatre company, will tomorrow announce that Michael Ihlein will become Chair following the retirement of Antoinette (Popsy) Albert.

Antoinette has been on the board of atyp since 1995 and has served as Chair since 2003. Under her leadership, atyp has grown in its role as Australia’s leading youth theatre company, presenting shows at its home at The Wharf in Walsh Bay for 28 weeks per year and running Australia’s largest script development program for young writers through its Fresh Ink programme.

“My association with atyp for the last 15 years has been one of the richest experiences of my working life,” Antionette said.

“During my time on the board my belief in the importance of the opportunity for young people to find self expression through the performing arts has been verified on a daily basis.

“I am delighted now that someone of Michael Ihlein’s calibre and capability is to take up the baton as atyp’s new Chair. Coming up to its 50th year of operation in 2013, atyp is poised for new growth and development and Michael’s extensive business and financial background, coupled with his long time support for the Company, make him an ideal candidate to take atyp into this next phase.”

Michael Ihlein was most recently Chief Executive Officer of Brambles Limited, having retired in November 2009. Prior to that he was Chief Financial Officer of Brambles and spent 26 years with Coca-Cola Amatil Limited in senior financial and operating roles both in Australia and overseas.

Michael Ihlein said: “I am delighted to have the privilege of becoming Chair of such a wonderful youth theatre company. atyp is driven by the idea that the arts inspire creative, courageous and confident young people wherever they are and to be whatever they want to be. I look forward to building on the successes atyp has already had and to help the Company achieve its full potential.”

Fraser Corfield, Artistic Director of atyp said: “The staff at atyp are greatly appreciative of the leadership and support that Popsy has shown. She has displayed a great dedication to the Company and she will be missed. It is wonderful now to have Michael Ihlein join us as Chair and I look forward to working with him. He will bring an excellent set of operational and financial skills to atyp as the Company expands its offerings and prepares for its 50th Anniversary and move to its new home on Wharf 2/3.”

atyp’s Board also includes Nicole Abadee, Jill Berry, Fraser Corfield, Alexandra Holcomb, Tommy Murphy, Tim Regan, Cathy Robinson and Edward Simpson.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *