More cash prizes and more time to enter 2020 Vanda & Young Global Songwriting Competition

With the impact of COVID-19 affecting the livelihoods of music creators worldwide, organisers of the Vanda & Young Global Songwriting Competition are extending the entry period and awarding an additional ten runner-up cash prizes of A$1,000.

The competition’s original closing date of 14 May has been moved to 29 October, giving songwriters more time to submit a song. The 1st place winner will receive a career-changing A$50,000 furnished by APRA AMCOS, Alberts and BMG; 2nd place of A$10,000 courtesy of Banki Haddock Fiora, A$5,000 courtesy Aon, and the A$5,000 AMPAL Emerging Songwriter Prize awarded to an unpublished songwriter and furnished by the Australasian Music Publishers Association.

With the aim to help more songwriters financially and get their music heard by both industry tastemakers and music fans, ten runners-up from the Top 40 shortlist will also be awarded a A$1,000 cash prize, made possible by the generosity of an anonymous donor.

As always, thanks to the generosity of songwriters worldwide, the full entry fee of A$50 will go directly to fund the transformative programs of Nordoff-Robbins Music Therapy Australia. In eleven years of the competition’s existence, entrants have contributed over A$1.2 million, making a huge impact on the lives of others with their songs.

Named after the iconic songwriters and founding members of The Easybeats, Harry Vanda and the late George Young, the long-running competition has served as a career springboard to an impressive line-up: Matt Corby and Dann Hume in 2019 for Miracle LoveAmy Shark (2018), Gretta Ray(2016), Husky Gawenda (2014), Isabella Manfredi (2013), Kimbra (2011) and Megan Washington (2009), as well as top finishers including Sarah Aarons, Gotye, Meg Mac, and Gang of Youths frontman David Le’aupepe.

A judging panel comprised of influential artists, producers, media and music industry professionals has been confirmed, including award-winning songwriter Lior, APRA AMCOS Ambassador Dallas Frasca, triple j Unearthed’s Dave Ruby Howe, producer Robert Conley and reps from Amazon Music and Universal Music.

Top 40 shortlist will be announced in February with prize winners to be announced shortly after.

Entries close 11.59pm AEDT Thursday 29 October 2020.

Please visit for more information and terms and conditions.

Peter J Snee

Peter is a British born creative, working in the live entertainment industry. He holds an honours degree in Performing Arts and has over 12 years combined work experience in producing, directing and managing artistic programs & events. Peter has traversed the UK, Europe and Australia pursuing his interest in theatre. He is inspired by great stories and passionately driven by pursuing opportunities to tell them.

Peter J Snee

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *