Canberra to be Mousetrapped

mousetrap_60yearsIt’s official! Canberra is the fifth city to be announced in the Australian tour of The Mousetrap, which is celebrating it’s 60th Anniversary in 2012.

60 professional productions are being staged world-wide to mark the Diamond Anniversary of Agatha Christie’s iconic play The Mousetrap and the Australian production is now slated to open in Sydney before touring to Perth, Melbourne, Adelaide and now Canberra.

Presented by Michael Coppel, Louise Withers and Linda Bewick in association with Adrian Barnes, this all-Australian production will play a limited season of 11 performances at The Canberra Playhouse, The Canberra Theatre Centre from August 1 – 9.

Originally written as a radio play entitled Three Blind Mice by Agatha Christie and broadcast in 1947, Christie adapted the piece into a short novel before it became The Mousetrap as we know it today. Now the longest running show of any kind, having played over 24,000 performances on London’s West End since 1952, it is interesting to note that Christie never expected the play to run for more than a few months.

She stipulated that no film of The Mousetrap be made until six months after the West End Production closed, but with the 60th anniversary celebrations prepare to commence around the globe and the historic London run is showing no signs of slowing down, a film adaptation looks unlikely.

Tickets for the Canberra season are on sale from Monday 4 May via 


The Canberra Theatre Centre, The Canberra Playhouse

11 Performances only
August 1 – 9

Canberra Ticketing 02 6275 2700

Erin James

Erin James is's former Editor in Chief and a performer on both stage and screen. Credits include My Fair Lady, South Pacific and The King and I (Opera Australia), Love Never Dies and Cats (Really Useful Group), Blood Brothers (Enda Markey Presents), A Place To Call Home (Foxtel/Channel 7) and the feature film The Little Death (written and directed by Josh Lawson).

Erin James

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *