Annie Aitken wins 2018 Rob Guest Endowment

The 2018 Rob Guest Endowment took place tonight at Sydney’s Capitol Theatre in front of a panel of expert judges including Kellie Dickerson, Jason Langley, Sharon Millerchip and Guy Simpson.

Annie Aitkin is the 2018 Rob Guest Endowment Award winner
Annie Aitkin is the 2018 Rob Guest Endowment Award winner

Annie Aitken (Melba, Muriel’s Wedding) was named as the winner of the 2018 Rob Guest Endowment Award at the conclusion of the Grand Final Event featuring performances from Aitken and five other outstanding Grand Finalists.

Aitken took home $20,000 prize money, and the runners up – Joel Granger (She Loves Me, Cry-Baby),Todd Jacobsson (The Book of Mormon), Courtney Monsma (Mamma Mia), Ashleigh Rubenach (Cry-Baby, My Fair Lady) and Lyndon Watts (Aladdin, Singin’ In The Rain) – were each awarded $1,500.

Melbourne’s East End Theatre District Artist Development Award, an initiative of Mike Walsh and the Marriner family awarding a $5,000 cash prize to a promising young music theatre talent, went to Ashleigh Rubenach.

The Playbill Future Prospect Award was given to Stephanie Wall. This award, sponsored by Playbill, is a $1,500 cash prize to a semi-finalist who didn’t makethe finals but the judges wanted to encourage to return to the competition next year.

The six Finalists – Joel Granger, Annie Aitken, Courtney Monsma, Ashleigh Rubenach, Lyndon Watts and Todd Jacobsson – spent the day with the judging panel and creative team in musical, dramatic and movement sessions, allowing the judges to get to know the finalists and see how they work, better informing their decision. Following the Presentation, a social function was held for the finalists and award winners to connect with the industry professionals in attendance, and make direct contact with people who can assist them in developing their career. This fulfils the aim of the Rob Guest Endowment to better connect young performers with industry professionals who can encourage, mentor and advise them.

2018 Rob Guest Endowment Finalists
The 2018 Rob Guest Endowment Finalists

Two other awards were presented recognising further excellence in other fields of musical theatre. The Rob Guest Endowment Technical Award in Honour of Sue Nattrass was awarded to Brittany Coombs and the Rob Guest Endowment Musician Award was won by Katie Robinson. Funded by the Capitol Theatre and the Sydney Lyric Theatre, both winners took home a $10,000 cash prize intended to help fund the tuition and experience needed to help them become leaders in their field.

The Rob Guest Endowment executive committee, Kellie Dickerson, Stephen Found and Bernadette Hayes, were blown away by the calibre of talent this year.

Erin James

Erin James is's former Editor in Chief and a performer on both stage and screen. Credits include My Fair Lady, South Pacific and The King and I (Opera Australia), Love Never Dies and Cats (Really Useful Group), Blood Brothers (Enda Markey Presents), A Place To Call Home (Foxtel/Channel 7) and the feature film The Little Death (written and directed by Josh Lawson).

Erin James

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *