Tony’s Administrative Committee reveals regulations for the 2022-2023 season

The Tony Awards Administration Committee has released its first set of rulings for the 2022-2023 season, determining the eligibility for 20 Broadway productions. The 76th Annual Tony Awards ceremony is set to take place on June 11, 2023, at the United Palace Theatre in New York City. The eligibility cut-off date for Broadway productions is April 27, with nominations to be announced on May 2.

The productions included in the eligibility decisions are: Into the Woods, The Kite Runner, Leopoldstadt, Cost of Living, 1776, Arthur Miller’s Death of a Salesman, August Wilson’s The Piano Lesson, Suzan Lori-Parks’ Topdog/Underdog, Walking with Ghosts, Almost Famous, Kimberly Akimbo, Mike Birbiglia: The Old Man & The Pool, & Juliet, A Christmas Carol, KPOP, Ain’t No Mo’, A Beautiful Noise, The Neil Diamond Musical, Ohio State Murders, Some Like it Hot, and The Collaboration.

As per the committee’s ruling, unless stated otherwise, performers billed above the title of the show are automatically eligible in the leading acting categories, while those billed below the title are eligible in the featured categories. The committee made the following determinations:

Best Performance by an Actor/Actress in a Featured Role in a Musical

  • Gavin Creel, Joshua Henry, and Phillipa Soo for “Into the Woods”
  • Samuel L. Jackson and Danielle Brooks for “August Wilson’s The Piano Lesson”

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role in a Play

  • Amir Arison for “The Kite Runner”
  • Jefferson Mays for “A Christmas Carol”
  • Bettany and Pope for “The Collaboration”

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Musical

  • Crystal Lucas-Perry for “1776”
  • Victoria Clark for “Kimberly Akimbo”
  • Lorna Courtney for “& Juliet”
  • Luna for “KPOP”

Best Performance by an Actress in a Featured Role in a Play

  • Sharon D Clarke for “Arthur Miller’s Death of a Salesman”

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role in a Musical

  • Casey Likes for “Almost Famous”
  • Swenson for “A Beautiful Noise, The Neil Diamond Musical”
  • Borle, Ghee, and Hicks for “Some Like it Hot”

Best Play

  • “A Christmas Carol”

Best Revival of a Play

  • “Ohio State Murders”

Best Scenic Design of a Play

  • Dane Laffrey and Lucy Mackinnon for “A Christmas Carol”
  • Boritt and Sugg for “Ohio State Murders”

Best Scenic Design of a Musical

  • Soutra Gilmour and Andrzej Goulding for “& Juliet”
  • Gabriel Hainer Evansohn and Peter Nigrini for “KPOP”

Best Lighting Design of a Play

  • Stanton and McLean for “The Collaboration”

The Tony Award Administration Committee also announced a revised rule for this season, allowing voters to vote in categories where they have not viewed a performance of each production, one creative element that has been nominated, and one performance by each nominee. Write-in votes will not be accepted.

Further details about the 76th Annual Tony Awards will be revealed at a later time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *