Ain’t Too Proud’s West End debut announces full cast

Ain’t Too Proud, the upcoming West End musical, has now announced its full cast, featuring a mix of familiar and fresh faces. The production has already revealed some of the performers, including Cameron Bernard Jones as Melvin Franklin, Kyle Cox as Paul Williams, Sifiso Mazibuko as Otis Williams, Tosh Wanogho-Maud as David Ruffin, and Mitchell Zhangazha as Eddie Kendricks.

The complete cast now includes Evonnee Bentley-Holder, Natalia Brown, Ryan Carter, Hannah Fairclough, Christopher Gopaul, Daniel Haswell, Naomi Katiyo, Akmed Junior Khemalai, Holly Liburd, Darnell Mathew-James, Simeon Montague, Posi Morakinyo, Sadie-Jean Shirley, Michael James Stewart, Toyan Thomas-Browne, Dylan Turner, and Kevin Yates.

The show, with a book by Kennedy Prize-winning playwright Dominique Morisseau, is directed by two-time Tony Award-winning director Des McAnuff and features choreography by Tony Award-winning choreographer Sergio Trujilio, lighting design by Tony Award winner Howell Binkley, and sound design by Tony Award winner Steve Canyon Kennedy. All four of these artists have previously collaborated on the much-loved jukebox musical Jersey Boys.

Ain’t Too Proud boasts scenic design by Tony Award nominee Robert Brill, costume design by Tony Award winner Paul Tazewell, and projection design by Drama Desk Award winner Peter Nigrini, with hair and wig design by Charles G LaPointe. The music supervision and arrangements are by Kenny Seymour, orchestrations by Drama Desk Award winner Harold Wheeler, and music direction by Matt Smith.

The Prince Edward Theatre, which was recently vacated by Mary Poppins, will host the musical’s performances starting on 31 March 2023. With a talented cast, creative team, and exciting venue, Ain’t Too Proud promises to be an incredible addition to London’s vibrant theatre scene.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *