2020 Tony Awards eligibility criteria has been announced

With the coronavirus pandemic putting New York’s Broadway theatre district into the deep freeze, the 2019-2020 award season has had to make dramatic changes to its eligibility criteria. As previously reporterd, the 2020 Tony Awards, will now take place online – and with a much smaller number of productions qualifying for consideration.

18 shows will be eligible for nominations this year – a near 50% reduction from last years 34 eligible productions. The Tony Awards Attendance Committee made the following statement;

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the rules have been adjusted for one-time only to ensure broad recognition of excellent work that occurred during the abbreviated Broadway season while also protecting the integrity of the Award. Performances and creative categories will be handled in a similar manner to how show categories have been handled in the past few years.

Traditionally each category would have between four to five nominees, however this year the cap will be put at three.

The following shows will be eligible for the 2019-20 Tony Awards:

  1. Moulin Rouge! The Musical
  2. Betrayal
  3. Sea Wall/A Life
  4. Frankie and Johnny in the Claire de Lune
  5. Grand Horizons
  6. My Name is Lucy Barton
  7. A Soldier’s Play
  8. Jagged Little Pill
  9. A Christmas Carol
  10. The Inheritance
  11. Tina – The Tina Turner Musical
  12. The Sound Inside
  13. The Lightning Thief: The Percy Jackson Musical
  14. The Rose Tattoo
  15. Linda Vista
  16. Slave Play
  17. The Great Society
  18. The Heigh of the Storm

All other productions were not seen by enough committee members and therefore will not be eligible for consideration.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *